Now Playing :

Program Guide icon
Radio City Freedom Awards 6: Emiway, Brodha V, Prateek Kuhad win again, Coma Rossi, The Local Train bag their first RCFA honours | Indie Artist News

Radio City Freedom Awards 6: Emiway, Brodha V, Prateek Kuhad win again, Coma Rossi, The Local Train bag their first RCFA honours

By - Vijayalakshmi Narayanan

MARCH 28,2019

Emiway, Brodha V, Prateek Kuhad

After three long months of live gigs that kickstarted the Radio City Freedom Awards 6 culminated to the Grand Finale that was held at the Glocal Junction, Worli, Mumbai on March 28th, 2019.

Radio City, India’s leading radio network captivated Indie Music lovers at the grand finale of, ‘Radio City Freedom Awards 6, driven by Skoda’- the most definitive platform to recognize, honor and celebrate the essence of independent music across genres and languages. The run up to the finale of the sixth season of this marquee property, upheld India’s independent music talent with 6 LIVE gigs across 6 cities. The splendid evening witnessed phenomenal performances by prominent indie acts such as Antarman, Monica Dogra, Emiway Bantai and DJ Pash.

Outstanding artistes were awarded across categories including Best Hip Hop/ Rap Artist, Best Folk Fusion Artist, Best Pop Artist, Best Rock Artist, Best Metal Artist and Best Electronica Artist. Some of the biggest names to have won the awards included Emiway Bantai Brodha V, who emerged the favorites in the Hip-Hop category as Best Hip-Hop Artist (Popular Choice) and Best Hip-Hop Artist (Judges’ Choice) for the second time. Coma Rossi and The Local Train won the Best Rock Artists as per popular and jury voting, respectively. Prateek Kuhad won the Best Pop Artist (Jury Choice) for his beautiful love song, ‘cold/mess’, which also picked up Best Video. While Ankur Tewari was awarded the prestigious Skoda Indie Genius of the Year Award for his path-breaking 18 song soundtrack for the Zoya Akhtar directorial ‘Gully Boy’ and for bridging mainstream and alternative musical landscapes with his poetry project Kommune.

The current edition saw highly acclaimed jury members such as Luke Kenny, Ritnika Nayan, Amit Gurbaxani, Atul Churamani and Yotam Agam among others.

To find out the complete list of winners, click here.

Related News

Naezy gets reflective about himself and the nation with his latest single, 302 Read More
Swadesi hits out at the current regime with their scathing new release, Mahamaari Read More
IncInk Records Releases First Indian Sign Language Video of Vartalap from Spitfire`s debut EP Read More


This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy OK    Decline