Now Playing :

Program Guide icon
Radio City Freedom Awards 5: Emiway, Brodha V, Parvaaz, Vasu Dixit win top honours | Indie Artist News

Radio City Freedom Awards 5: Emiway, Brodha V, Parvaaz, Vasu Dixit win top honours

By - Team Radio City

MARCH 23,2018

Radio City Freedom Awards 5

After three long months of live gigs that kickstarted the ‘Sounds of the Soil’ initiative, the Radio City Freedom Awards 5 culminated to the Grand Finale that was held at the Glocal Junction, Worli, Mumbai on March 22nd, 2018.

Radio City, India’s leading radio network captivated Indie Music lovers at the grand finale of, ‘Jockey presents Radio City Freedom Awards 5.0 driven by Skoda’- the most definitive platform to recognize, honor and celebrate the essence of independent music across genres and languages. The run up to the finale of the fifth season of this marquee property, upheld India’s independent music talent with 13 LIVE gigs in 10 languages across 8 cities. The splendid evening witnessed phenomenal performances by prominent indie acts such as SIFAR, Khasi Bloodz, Maati Baani and Paranox and Friends. The highlight of the evening however was the launch of Radio City Hip-Hop, a dedicated radio station that belts out indie hip-hop music 24/7.

Outstanding artistes were awarded across categories including Best Hip Hop/ Rap Artist, Best Folk Fusion Artist, Best Pop Artist, Best Rock Artist, Best Metal Artist and Best Electronica Artist. Some of the biggest names to have won the awards included Emiway and Brodha V, who emerged the favorites in the Hip-Hop category as Best Hip-Hop Artist (Popular Choice) and Best Hip-Hop Artist (Judges’ Choice). Fireflood and Parvaaz won the Best Rock Artists as per popular and jury voting, respectively. Ankur Tewari and Prateek Kuhad won the Best Indie Collaboration for their song, ‘Dil Beparwah’. While Rana Ghose was awarded the prestigious Jockey Indiegenius of the Year Award for his venture, REProduce Listening Room.

The current edition saw highly acclaimed jury members such as Luke Kenny, Ritnika Nayan, Vehrnon Ibrahim, Atul Churamani and Yotam Agam among others.

Expressing contentment at the end of another successful season, Mr. Abraham Thomas, CEO, Radio City said,We are truly overwhelmed with the response of the indie music fraternity, the fans and the advertisers to the season 5 of Radio City Freedom Awards. What a journey it has been over the last years and we are proud to see the heights of popularity it has scaled. With over 864 nominations, over 16000 votes, 13 gigs across 8 cities in 10 languages, RCFA 5.0 truly embodied its theme of Sounds of the Soil. We look forward to taking this property to even greater heights in the coming years”

Ms. Rachna Kanwar, COO Digital – Jagran Group, said, “As expected, we have received a fabulous response for RCFA 5.0 and we are thankful for all the love and support that we have received all these years from the community. We are proud to say that we have stayed true to the scene and have tried to bring forth fresh talent each year from every part of India. In this endeavor we have enjoyed discovering and showcasing talent on our now 4 Web Radio stations on At RCFA 5.0, we launched our brand new Indie station, RADIOCITY HIP HOP. Hip Hop fans can tune in 24/7 to to listen to their favourite Indie Hip Hop tracks. We will continue to work with the diverse Indie genres on our platforms and keep bringing more and more Indie your way!”

To find out the complete list of winners, click here.

Related News

Prateek Kuhad
I still don`t feel famous: Prateek Kuhad Read More
Big Deal and Chaos
Namma Bengaluru, get ready to dab and roll with Big Deal and Chaos Read More
Control Alt Delete 11
Control Alt Delete 11 just got bigger and better Read More


This website uses cookie or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalised recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy.OK